Friday, February 26, 2016

Interview with Joyce Maynard

I recently had the pleasure of interviewing one of my favorite authors, Joyce Maynard, for Long Island Woman. Joyce and I spoke about her wonderful new book, Under the Influence.

Please click here to read the interview. Thanks!

Thursday, December 03, 2015

Love from the interwebs ...



Now that Dorothy Parker Drank Here is available in paperback, it's garnering some renewed attention from the bloggers and other websites. Here are some of my favorite recent reviews.

From Red Carpet Crash
'Dorothy Parker Drank Here’ May Be The Book Of The Year
"Dorothy Parker is a Dame! She smokes, drinks, has a mouth on her like a sailor and flirts like there’s no tomorrow. And she is Dead! ... A really terrific read."
Read more.

From Constantly Reading Momma
"I’m giving Dorothy Parker Drank Here five (yes FIVE) stars. So much fun, lots of heart, well written, and engrossing. The characters are perfect and real (even the ‘ghost’ of Parker), and the story resonates. I think this would make a fun movie, and it’s a great book club pick!!! Get it now, and read it over the long Christmas break when you’re stuck with your family!!!"
Read more.

From BookPleasures:
"Great characters make this unusual novel compelling. What makes it unusual is that the characters are both dead and alive...Meister has the language of literary pretentiousness and bon mots of personalities down pat."
Read more.

From Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore
"If you love Dorothy Parker, imagine her ghost haunting the Algonquin Hotel, frightening the guests and ordering cocktails from the staff. In Meister’s witty novel, Parker encounters a cast of characters, including a curmudgeonly old writer and an eager young television producer, each with their own crazy agenda. A fun ride great for fans of Jonathan Tropper or Maria Semple."
Read more.

From Books and Movies and Stuff
"As in 'Farewell, Dorothy Parker,' Ms. Meister shows an encyclopedic knowledge of Dorothy Parker’s wit. Even when not using one of Mrs. Parker’s direct quotes, the author has a firm, hilarious command of what she would say, and how she would say it."
Read more

From A Midwife Life
"The author has crafted a masterpiece containing deep, complex characters that you will be happy you discovered. Not one to be missed!"
Read more

From Journey of a Bookseller
"The ending was different from what I expected and I liked it. This one is well worth a read ...rip roarin' good fun."
Read more

From It's About the Book
"An original story line and characters that will delight and captivate ... Meister works magic as a storyteller, able to weave together the multiple lines of this story into a luminous whole with a beautiful message. Sharp, funny, bittersweet–this book is a must-read from start to finish."
Read more.


You can buy Dorothy Parker Drank Here in paperback at your local bookstore, or order online today.
Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Books-A-Million • IndieBound • Target •Walmart







Tuesday, December 01, 2015

Paperback pub day for Dorothy Parker Drank Here!



Good news for paper lovers. Dorothy Parker Drank Here is now available in paperback! You can buy it at your local bookstore, or purchase it online.

Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Books-A-Million • IndieBoundTargetWalmart

It's also available in all ereader and audiobook formats.

Kindle • Nook • iBooks • Kobo • Audible 

If you don't yet have a copy, I hope you'll consider buying it today. Here are some review snippets ...

"Meister's Dorothy Parker is just as sharp, witty and pleasantly mean as fans would expect. Her humanity shines through, though, along with her humor ... a surprisingly emotional novel. Not even death can keep Dorothy Parker down in this sad and funny story."  -Kirkus Reviews

"[Meister] does a lovely job of imagining the voice of Dorothy Parker with equal parts wit, heartbreak, and practicality." - Booklist

"Hilarious ... and liberally sprinkled with Parker’s signature acerbic humor." - Publishers Weekly

"A quick, charming read that will delight Parker fans and stoke the curiosity of those unfamiliar with her great wit." - Library Journal

"The writing is stellar, making it difficult to put the book down." - RT Book Reviews

"Between the martinis and the bon mots, there's bite and charm in [Dorothy Parker Drank Here], which conjures the spirit of the titular literary wit." - Closer Magazine

"It’s a great comic complement to novels like THE PARIS WIFE and LOVING FRANK, and if you’re not a fan of Parker’s or Meister’s already, you soon will be." - Book Reporter

"Dorothy Parker Drank Here is a wild ride, pairing the well-researched wit of Dorothy Parker with a contemporary story of success and failure, romance and family. Meister's brilliant interpretation of Parker's ghost in the modern world keeps the novel from ever veering into the land of cliché as she brings to life--or rather, brings to ghostliness--the spirit of one of the most famous writers of the Algonquin Round Table." - Shelf Awareness

"This well-written story rolls right along after drawing you in at page one. Meister has a flare for the quips for which Dorothy Parker was so famous, making the reader feel as if the venerable Mrs. Parker has sprung back to life, never to leave us again."  - Dish Magazine

"Classic wit, sparkling zingers and rapid-fire one-liners ... park reality at the door and let this book sweep you up into a nostalgic tale punctuated with contemporary themes."  - Lincoln Journal Star  

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Query Workshop!

"Ellen Meister is one of the few people in the business who really understands how to craft a query letter that will hook an agent. She helped me hone mine and I know she can help you with yours. I think you'll find her program invaluable." - Lisa McMann, NYT bestselling author.


Consider this an announcement for my writer friends. You may know that I've been a creative writing instructor for several years. But I've been helping writers hone their query letters for even longer. It's the nexus of my background in marketing and my writing experiences. And of course, I'm quite proud that I was able to help Lisa McMann, who went on to become a New York Times bestselling author. Her query letter was even featured by Writer's Digest as an example of a successful query.

I've teamed up with the folks at WordTango to create a Weekend Query Workshop, where I'll be posting my best tips and insights. I have so much to share with you! So if you have a novel and no literary agent, please consider taking this workshop. I know you'll get a lot out of it!

The only catch is that registration is limited. So if you're interested, please sign up right away. You can even purchase a private critique of your query.

Click here for more information on my WordTango Weekend Query Workshop, Dec. 4 - 6.

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Book Giveaway!


My publisher is giving away TWENTY signed copies of Farewell, Dorothy Parker, over on Goodreads. Feel free to enter even if you already own one--the holidays are coming up and you can give it as a gift.

ENTER NOW.

Thanks!

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Another chance to win an autographed book!

I'm doing another giveaway! Sign up for my mailing list today and you could win a signed copy of Dorothy Parker Drank Here. Just be sure you click through when you get the confirmation email. (Note: I sent out only occasional emails, and you can opt-out at any time.)


Sign up today for Ellen's email list!
* required
*

*

*

*

*




Email and Social Media Marketing by VerticalResponse

Wednesday, May 06, 2015

"A Wild Ride"


"Dorothy Parker Drank Here is a wild ride, pairing the well-researched wit of Dorothy Parker with a contemporary story of success and failure, romance and family. Meister's brilliant interpretation of Parker's ghost in the modern world keeps the novel from ever veering into the land of cliché as she brings to life--or rather, brings to ghostliness--the spirit of one of the most famous writers of the Algonquin Round Table."
- Shelf Awareness


Would you like a signed copy of Dorothy Parker Drank Here?

Great news! I teamed up with my local independent bookstore, Book Revue, to offer signed, personalized copies of Dorothy Parker Drank Here. And they ship anywhere in the world! Just give them a call at 631-271-1442. Or use this form and someone from Book Revue will call to get your information.

Dorothy Parker Drank Here is also available from all of the usual places, and is in hardcover as well as all ereader formats.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | IndieBound | Powell's | iBooks

"Meister's Dorothy Parker is just as sharp, witty and pleasantly mean as fans would expect. Her humanity shines through, though, along with her humor ... a surprisingly emotional novel. Not even death can keep Dorothy Parker down in this sad and funny story."
-Kirkus Reviews

"[Meister] does a lovely job of imagining the voice of Dorothy Parker with equal parts wit, heartbreak, and practicality."
- Booklist

"Hilarious ... and liberally sprinkled with Parker’s signature acerbic humor."
- Publishers Weekly

"A quick, charming read that will delight Parker fans and stoke the curiosity of those unfamiliar with her great wit."
- Library Journal

"The writing is stellar, making it difficult to put the book down."
- RT Book Reviews

"Between the martinis and the bon mots, there's bite and charm in [Dorothy Parker Drank Here], which conjures the spirit of the titular literary wit."
- Closer Magazine

"It’s a great comic complement to novels like THE PARIS WIFE and LOVING FRANK, and if you’re not a fan of Parker’s or Meister’s already, you soon will be."
- Book Reporter

"This well-written story rolls right along after drawing you in at page one. Meister has a flare for the quips for which Dorothy Parker was so famous, making the reader feel as if the venerable Mrs. Parker has sprung back to life, never to leave us again."
- Dish Magazine