Thursday, December 03, 2015

Love from the interwebs ...



Now that Dorothy Parker Drank Here is available in paperback, it's garnering some renewed attention from the bloggers and other websites. Here are some of my favorite recent reviews.

From Red Carpet Crash
'Dorothy Parker Drank Here’ May Be The Book Of The Year
"Dorothy Parker is a Dame! She smokes, drinks, has a mouth on her like a sailor and flirts like there’s no tomorrow. And she is Dead! ... A really terrific read."
Read more.

From Constantly Reading Momma
"I’m giving Dorothy Parker Drank Here five (yes FIVE) stars. So much fun, lots of heart, well written, and engrossing. The characters are perfect and real (even the ‘ghost’ of Parker), and the story resonates. I think this would make a fun movie, and it’s a great book club pick!!! Get it now, and read it over the long Christmas break when you’re stuck with your family!!!"
Read more.

From BookPleasures:
"Great characters make this unusual novel compelling. What makes it unusual is that the characters are both dead and alive...Meister has the language of literary pretentiousness and bon mots of personalities down pat."
Read more.

From Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore
"If you love Dorothy Parker, imagine her ghost haunting the Algonquin Hotel, frightening the guests and ordering cocktails from the staff. In Meister’s witty novel, Parker encounters a cast of characters, including a curmudgeonly old writer and an eager young television producer, each with their own crazy agenda. A fun ride great for fans of Jonathan Tropper or Maria Semple."
Read more.

From Books and Movies and Stuff
"As in 'Farewell, Dorothy Parker,' Ms. Meister shows an encyclopedic knowledge of Dorothy Parker’s wit. Even when not using one of Mrs. Parker’s direct quotes, the author has a firm, hilarious command of what she would say, and how she would say it."
Read more

From A Midwife Life
"The author has crafted a masterpiece containing deep, complex characters that you will be happy you discovered. Not one to be missed!"
Read more

From Journey of a Bookseller
"The ending was different from what I expected and I liked it. This one is well worth a read ...rip roarin' good fun."
Read more

From It's About the Book
"An original story line and characters that will delight and captivate ... Meister works magic as a storyteller, able to weave together the multiple lines of this story into a luminous whole with a beautiful message. Sharp, funny, bittersweet–this book is a must-read from start to finish."
Read more.


You can buy Dorothy Parker Drank Here in paperback at your local bookstore, or order online today.
Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Books-A-Million • IndieBound • Target •Walmart







No comments: