Monday, January 07, 2019

Are You a JAP (Jewish American Princess) Poster

This blog has been dormant for years, but I wanted to be sure I put this image out there into cyber space, in case anyone else on planet Earth has been on the hunt for this thing and needs to know that it really exists.

I first saw this ARE YOU A JAP  (Jewish American Princess) poster in high school, but had a hard time finding anyone else who remembered it. And I searched the internet for it for years and years, without even finding a reference to it. I was beginning to think I had imagined the whole thing. But now it's my possession, thanks to a certain Google wizard and a generous benefactor. I am overjoyed!




Monday, May 28, 2018

Memorial Day 2018

The most patriotic way we can honor our fallen heroes is to protest racism, injustice and tyranny.

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Why I'm Marching

I am marching because women's rights are human rights.
I am marching because we will have a sexual predator in the White House.
I am marching because we must protect Roe v. Wade.
I am marching because without Planned Parenthood, women will die.
I am marching because we must protect the health of ALL Americans.
I am marching because climate change threatens every living thing on earth.
I am marching for civil rights.
I am marching for LGBT rights.
I am marching for immigrant rights.
I am marching for voting rights.
I am marching for religious rights.
I am marching because we have an administration that cares only about the rich.
I am marching for the poor.
I am marching for the middle class.
I am marching for the sick.
I am marching for the hungry.
I am marching because we have an administration so regressive it doesn't believe in science.
I am marching because the Tea Party is the American Taliban.
I am marching because we elected a con man who ran a campaign based on hatred, fear, scapegoating and lies.
I am marching because he is evil and dangerous.
I am marching because his closest advisor is a white nationalist.
I am marching because he will sell us out to line his own pockets.
I am marching because he is a lying racist who led the birther movement.
I am marching because he is a thief and a narcissist and a bully.
I am marching because the VP-elect tried to force women to bury or cremate their miscarried or aborted fetuses.
I am marching because the VP-elect supports conversion therapy.
I am marching because the Russians hijacked the election.
I am marching because Russia has him over a barrel.
I am marching because 11 days before the election, James Comey interfered, effectively killed Hillary's chance of winning.
I am marching because of gerrymandering.
I am marching because of voter suppression.
I am marching because Citizens United is anti-American.
I am marching because of what he said about Carly Fiorina's face.
I am marching because of what he said about Hillary Clinton's behind.
I am marching because he slut-shamed and fat-shamed Miss Universe.
I am marching because he said Megyn Kelly had blood coming out of her wherever.
I am marching because he's a pussy grabber.
I am marching because he imitated a disabled reporter.
I am marching because he doesn't believe in the free press.
I am marching for NATO.
I am marching for the ACA.
I am marching for Obama's legacy.
I am marching for peace.
I am marching because Hillary won the popular vote.
I am marching because I am a mother.
I am marching because I am a patriot.
I am marching because I am a woman.


Stay safe, everyone.

Sunday, July 03, 2016

Summer Reading for Dorothy Parker Fans

The ghost of Dorothy Parker in the twenty-first century ...

"Meister skillfully translates the rapier-like wit of the Algonquin Round Table to modern-day New York." -Publishers Weekly

"Meister's Dorothy Parker is just as sharp, witty and pleasantly mean as fans would expect. Her humanity shines through, though, along with her humor." -Kirkus Reviews




DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at AMAZON

DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at B&N

DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at BAM

DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at INDIEBOUND

DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at WALMART






FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER at AMAZON

FAREWELL DOROTHY PARKER at B&N

FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER at BAM

FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER at INDIEBOUND

FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER at WALMART





These titles are also available in audiobook and all ebook formats.

Friday, June 10, 2016

Dorothy Parker Flash Sale

Amazon and Barnes & Noble have just put my Dorothy Parker books on sale. In my experience, these sale prices tend to disappear in a flash, so you if you're interested, don't wait ...






DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at AMAZON

DOROTHY PARKER DRANK HERE at B&N












FAREWELL, DOROTHY PARKER at AMAZON

FAREWELL DOROTHY PARKER at B&N

Friday, February 26, 2016

Interview with Joyce Maynard

I recently had the pleasure of interviewing one of my favorite authors, Joyce Maynard, for Long Island Woman. Joyce and I spoke about her wonderful new book, Under the Influence.

Please click here to read the interview. Thanks!

Thursday, December 03, 2015

Love from the interwebs ...



Now that Dorothy Parker Drank Here is available in paperback, it's garnering some renewed attention from the bloggers and other websites. Here are some of my favorite recent reviews.

From Red Carpet Crash
'Dorothy Parker Drank Here’ May Be The Book Of The Year
"Dorothy Parker is a Dame! She smokes, drinks, has a mouth on her like a sailor and flirts like there’s no tomorrow. And she is Dead! ... A really terrific read."
Read more.

From Constantly Reading Momma
"I’m giving Dorothy Parker Drank Here five (yes FIVE) stars. So much fun, lots of heart, well written, and engrossing. The characters are perfect and real (even the ‘ghost’ of Parker), and the story resonates. I think this would make a fun movie, and it’s a great book club pick!!! Get it now, and read it over the long Christmas break when you’re stuck with your family!!!"
Read more.

From BookPleasures:
"Great characters make this unusual novel compelling. What makes it unusual is that the characters are both dead and alive...Meister has the language of literary pretentiousness and bon mots of personalities down pat."
Read more.

From Mrs. Dalloway's Bookstore
"If you love Dorothy Parker, imagine her ghost haunting the Algonquin Hotel, frightening the guests and ordering cocktails from the staff. In Meister’s witty novel, Parker encounters a cast of characters, including a curmudgeonly old writer and an eager young television producer, each with their own crazy agenda. A fun ride great for fans of Jonathan Tropper or Maria Semple."
Read more.

From Books and Movies and Stuff
"As in 'Farewell, Dorothy Parker,' Ms. Meister shows an encyclopedic knowledge of Dorothy Parker’s wit. Even when not using one of Mrs. Parker’s direct quotes, the author has a firm, hilarious command of what she would say, and how she would say it."
Read more

From A Midwife Life
"The author has crafted a masterpiece containing deep, complex characters that you will be happy you discovered. Not one to be missed!"
Read more

From Journey of a Bookseller
"The ending was different from what I expected and I liked it. This one is well worth a read ...rip roarin' good fun."
Read more

From It's About the Book
"An original story line and characters that will delight and captivate ... Meister works magic as a storyteller, able to weave together the multiple lines of this story into a luminous whole with a beautiful message. Sharp, funny, bittersweet–this book is a must-read from start to finish."
Read more.


You can buy Dorothy Parker Drank Here in paperback at your local bookstore, or order online today.
Amazon • Barnes & Noble • Books-A-Million • IndieBound • Target •Walmart